top of page

Detail Development (Screen)

Updated: May 11, 2023


Starting Point

(Roots and Growth)

When you take the outline of a tree without its leaves and flip the shape you achieve this look of a tree with roots. The concept is like my project scheme in that the project provides growth to the community and then this in turn provides growth for the community.

Development

After turning these drawings into vectors using adobe illustrator I laser cut the patterns onto modelling card and then laminated the results so that I could explore manipulating the patterns into curves and then looked at how the reflections worked both as flat screen and curved screens.

I really like the patterns that the shadows produce and it is similar to my starting point showing how roots and the growth of the plant are linked liked the concept of my project.

Other Tests

Inspiration-

Inspired by the use of holes to create an image in the Aoba-tei restaurant that I looked at as a case study earlier on in this project I wanted to attempt to replicate a similar outcome using the shapes and roots I had already drawn.




Outcome-

The dots are very effective at creating a similar effect to the precedent I looked at but when I tried to laser cut this pattern the gaps between the circles was to small so a lot of the detail was lost.


49 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page