top of page

Inspiration Trip to London

To kick this years projects off I took a trip to London to get some inspiration from current exhibitions.

I visited this years Serpentine Pavilion at the Serpentine Galleries in Hyde Park. This years Pavilion called The Black Chapel was designed by Theaster Gates and constructed with help from Adjaye Associates. It draws on inspiration from the bottle kilns of Stoke on Trent and beehive kilns of the Western United States as well as traditional African mud huts from Cameroon.

Designed as a place for contemplation and convening it draws light into the space through a central signal light source. The interior is designed to be multifunctional and inclusive space that combines a space to display Gates work, a cafe, performance space and an open space for the general public to enjoy.

Photos of the 2022 Serpentine Pavilion by Theaster Gates

I found the space peaceful and spacious and really enjoyed the multitude of textures and materials that are all seamlessly combined using the black paint that mutes the space. Being able to enjoy the space as you wander through Hyde Park is unique and enjoyable. In a world where covid has made many venues bookings only stumbling across this space is refreshing, while I visited during the day the space is also reserved for theatrical and musical events in the evenings to bring a cultural element to the space.


 

I also visited the Design Museum, one of my favourite museums in London, no matter what exhibitions are on I find the space inspirational and the atmosphere relaxing and creative. The building is gorgeous and the interior space encourages creativity and community.

In particular I went to see the new exhibition about Yinka Ilori, I have previously visited some of his live exhibitions such as his bright pedestrian crossings in the London Design Festival 2021 and then his Launderette of Dreams project with Lego.

In the Design Museum there is a strong emphasis on togetherness and the messages behind Ilori's work, alongside his though and design process along with collections of his own and others work that he has curated into the exhibition.

Yinka Ilori exhibition at the Design Museum

The concept that design can bridge gaps between communities and bring people together despite their differences is an idea that I want to bring into my own work. His use of colour brings joy to those involved with his projects and from walking around the exhibition I could feel this joy myself.


 

Where I found my information-


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome to my blog

Im starting this blog two weeks before I start my third year of studies at university over the course of the year I aim to document and...

Comentarios


bottom of page